In a long overdue blog post, I explain my recent absence from the Internet (long story short, my life is very full at the moment) and I introduce my new weekly schedule and things to look forward to on the blog!

Hi, everyone! I’m sorry I’ve been MIA recently. With new classes and a new schedule, I’ve been burning the candle at both ends trying to get all my work done and still have time for sleep. I’m looking at the glass half full, though. Rather than saying, “My life is really busy,” I like to say, “My life is very full.”

My days are filled with learning, and laughing, and finding moments of happiness in the everyday routines of big city life. It’s hard work, but it’s worth it.

This semester, I’m taking four classes: Chinese 401, Food and Culture in Shanghai, Architecture and Urban Planning, and an internship seminar. So far, I’ve really been liking my classes because we spend almost all of our time outside of the classroom exploring the city (which I’ll talk about more in a later blog post).

In addition to my classes, I’m also working around eighteen hours a week at my internship. That does take a lot of time out of my schedule, but I love the work I’m doing and the people I’m doing it with, so it doesn’t feel like a burden.

To make things a bit more clear, let me take you through a typical week in the life of Laurelin!

Title-Dont-Disturb-She-Is-Studying


Laurelin’s Week

Monday: Chinese class, internship, long commute, dinner, studying, bed

Tuesday: Chinese class, hour break, field trip for Food Culture class, dinner, internship class, studying, bed

Wednesday: Internship from 9:30am to 5:00pm, long commute, dinner, studying, bed

Thursday: Chinese class, internship, long commute, dinner, studying, bed

Friday: Chinese class, hour break, field trip for Architecture and Urban Planning, dinner, hang out with friends

Saturday: Explore somewhere new (or an old favorite) with friends

Sunday: Study, study, study for the week ahead (sometimes in a nice cafe)


So there you have it! Recently, I’ve been downloading television shows onto my iPhone and watching them on the subway, so my commute has become downright pleasant! I look forward to it every day!

This post has been a bit different from my regular blog entries since it’s been so long since I’ve posted and there are so many things that I have yet to write about. Here are a few things to look forward to in the near future:

  • Exploring Shanghai on fun class field trips
  • Big city night life
  • Chinese New Year in Hainan
  • Dressing up as corn for my internship
  • Big move out of the apartments and into a home stay

I have a lot of writing to do! Thanks for sticking with Uprooted Abroad, and you can expect to hear more from me very soon!

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 2.18.42 AM

3 thoughts on “A Week in the Life

Let me know what you think!

